• Welcome to New Zealand Fighting Game Forum.

News:

Newbies: feel free to ask for help! We can do training sessions online as well!

Main Menu

Latency and connection discussion

Started by CrazyMobius, October 19, 2010, 10:13:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CrazyMobius

Hi all, I'm a real noob when it comes to technical stuff but I was just having a discussion from a guy at Vodafone who mentioned two things which can affect latency or connection speed. The first was "interleaving" and the second was "port redirection".
I think people have discussed port redirection before on the board but I haven't come across any discussions on interleaving. The guy said that if you ask your service provider to turn off interleaving it can improve your connection. He said it may have a small charge of $5 or so but this is a small price to pay TBH.

I'm sure a lot of people here will have experience in this type of stuff so can anyone give any wise words on this interleaving business and if requesting to have it turned off improves your connection? Also are there any down-sides to doing this?

Gino

Turning off interleaving can help with your ping, but may result in an unstable connection. I think interleaving is a form of error correction that is used if you are too far away from your exchange.

fluxcore

I was going to explain it, but if you actually care, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interleaving

Basically, interleaving off = less latency, but worse for error correction. They have it on by default for quality of service.

Personally, I got mine turned off.
Any sufficiently godlike street fighter technique is indistinguishable from randomness

zos'la

Interleaving is an extra level of error correction.

It makes sure that all ATM packets that come from the DSLAM to you and from you to the DSLAM are not corrupted, and if any are, it forces a re-send.