• Welcome to New Zealand Fighting Game Forum.

News:

DID YOU SEE THAT? That was the DAMAGER!

Main Menu

The "I have NFI what to do about fuerte on wakeup" thread

Started by fluxcore, May 24, 2010, 05:36:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fluxcore

I've had very little experience against fuerte, so when I play bill I start to froth at the mouth and go crosseyed after he knocks me down.

I think this is mainly because I don't understand my options, and writing things out helps me work this stuff out, so here we go.\
I'm ignoring the 'basic' 50/50 of throw or normal attack, just the 'special fuerte' options.

Assume that the char doesn't have a godlike DP that beats a lot of these options.

I'm also using the term "mitigates" rather than "beats" because most of the things that work end up with you in another shitty situation (like block low good vs slide, but then fuerte has advantage anyway)

Wakeup Options:

Block low
Beaten by:
Splash
Crossup Splash
Tortilla
Mitigates:
Slide (although fuerte is safe or +frames after? So you're back into another mixup)
Fajita buster

Conclusion: fairly stupid option.

Block high (normal)
Beaten by:
Slide
Tortilla
Crossup Splash
Fajita buster
Mitigates:
Splash

Block high (backwards)
Beaten by:
Slide
Tortilla
Splash
Fajita buster
Mitigates:
Crossup splash

Conclusion: incredibly stupid option, unless it's obviously crossup - although this could be a tortilla in which case, stupid option.

Jump
Beaten by:
Splash
Crossup Splash
Meaty Slide
Guacamole
Mitigates:
Tortilla
Fajita buster

Focus-dash
Beaten by:
Tortilla
Fajita buster
Mitigates:
Splash
Crossup Splash
Slide

Conclusion: kinda better

Backdash
Beaten by:
Meaty Slide
Mitigates:
Crossup Splash
Splash
Tortilla
Fajita buster

Conclusion: reasonable option.

Bill says backdash is generally best, which seems somewhat true from this enumeration, but I want to hear more thoughts. And obviously if fuerte KNOWS you will backdash, he can do something about it.